
The default behavior can be overridden programmatically using the Stigg SDKs and API.
Journey Start
To configure how customers begin their subscription:- Open the Customer Journey section in the Stigg app.
- Under Journey Start, choose how new customers gain initial access to the product:
- According to their plan selection - to allow customers to select a plan from the pricing table
- In a free trial of a paid plan to always start in a free trial of a paid plan
- In a free plan to always start in a free plan
Subscription Update
To define how updates to customers’ subscriptions are handled:- Under Subscription Update, configure the following options:
- Upgrades: always performed immediately.
- Downgrades: can occur:
- Immediately while granting customers credits for unused time, or
- At the end of the billing period.
- Configure how resettable metered features behave:
- Immediately reset usage upon plan transition.
- Never reset usage upon plan transition.
- Reset only when the subscription’s billing anchor changes (useful for transitions between free, paid, or different billing periods).
Journey End
To configure what happens when a customer cancels their subscription or when their trial expires:- Under Journey End, define when cancellation occurs:
- Immediately while granting customers credits for unused time.
- At the end of the billing period.
- Define what happens after cancellation:
- Revoke access to the subscription entitlements.
- Automatically downgrade the customer to a free plan (reverse trial).
- (Optional) When multiple products exist, configure linked cancellations, for example, canceling a subscription to product B when canceling product A.
All updates to the Customer Journey affect future subscription provisioning, updates, and cancellations. They do not apply retroactively.